Salivary gland problems

The major salivary glands consist of three sets of paired major glands: the two parotid glands (near the angle of the mandible), the two submandibular glands (beneath the mandible) and the two sublingual glands (beneath the floor of the mouth) and, in addition, many minor salivary glands which are scattered submucosally (under the lining), throughout the mouth, oropharynx (throat), palate and occasionally the nose.

The salivary glands are prone to a variety of conditions and diseases, including

Next section: Salivary gland problems